top of page

Dwarf Planets

- What is a Dwarf Planet ?

In 2006, International Astronomical Union ( IAU ) defined Dwarf Planet as a celestial body that that :

1 ) is in orbit around the Sun.

2 ) has sufficient mass for its self-gravity to overcome rigid body forces so that it assumes a hydrostatic equilibrium (nearly round) shape. 

3 ) has not cleared the neighborhood around its orbit.

4 ) is not a satellite.

- Recognized Dwarf Planets 

The Recognized Dwarf Planets, part of the Solar System are :

  1. Pluto

  2. Eris

  3. Haumea

  4. Ceres

  5. Makemake


bottom of page